The Kagai, or Hanamachi, literally translated as “Flower Town” is the term Kyoto people use for the districts where the geiko (geisha) and maiko (apprentice) practice the high-class arts that have made their beauty and refinement legendary the world over. There are five Hanamachi in Kyoto: Gion Kobu, Miyagawa-Cho, Pontocho, Kamishichiken and Gion Higashi — these are known as Kyoto’s Gokagai.  

Here are a few galleries of photos taken around these five Hanamachi, Flower Towns or Geisha Districts, as well as during special photo sessions, either public ones organized by various organizations or private ones.